Международная Ассоциация Союзов Архитекторов
The International Association of Eurasian Unions of Architects (IAUA)

2015 Barbara Cappochin prize winners Spanish team "Grupo Aranea

2015 Barbara Cappochin prize winners Spanish team "Grupo Aranea"

The Spanish team made up of Francisco Leiva Ivorra, Marta Garcia Chico, Antoni Baile Jiménez and Prócoro del Real Baeza - Grupo Aranea, was awarded the 2015 Barbara Cappochin Prize for their landscape/planning project El Valle Trenzado, at Elche Ravine in Spain. The project composes a system of footbridges integrated into the landscape, which transform the steep slopes of ravine’s geography into an accessible public space that integrates both the river and the city park. According to the jury, El Valle Trenzado resolves the contemporary city's environmental problems with a brave sketch.
A special jury mention was awarded to Giancarlo Artese (‘Studio Made in Earth’, Italy) for Rana House, a residence for HIV positive children in India. Other mentions were awarded to the urban requalification project in Mestre by architects Paolo Miotto and Mauro Sarti; to Samuel Delmas for a daycare centre in Asnière sur Seine, France; and to Ahiara Madoka for a residential complex in Tokyo, Japan.
Organised every two years since 2005, the Barbara Cappochin Prize aims to highlight architecture's vital role in the evolution of our landscape. It focuses on the urban periphery and the use of bio-architecture, energy efficiency, and sustainable urban planning. The prize is organised by the Barbara Cappochin Foundation and the Order of Architects, Urban Planners, Landscape Architects, and Conservationists of Padua province. The International Union of Architects has supported the prize since its creation. UIA was represented on the jury for this edition by Ms. Yolanda David Reyes, UIA vice-president.
Learn more about the Barbara Cappochin Prize: